No spam! There were identified 80 articles, but only 55 were related to the objectives of the study. Grain mites proliferate under high moisture conditions and are often found in conjunction with fungal growth. How do I prevent grain mites in my chicken feed? I have been breeding mealworms for my chickens and it was OK for about 12 months, then I found them! I think I have these in my critter house. Theyre very contagious and can easily pass through close contact. Hello , I have been trying to grow mealworms for 13 months now . Carolyn, I saw someone mentioned that you had success using DE to get rid of mites in superworms. Are you unusually itchy after handling flour or other grains? You wont be able to do anything about the substrate, but if you can swab up the walls, you may be able to gradually reduce the population. Eating flour mites is harmless for most people, so if you ate some of the infested food before you discovered the flour mites, dont panic. I did not cook the cornmeal or oatmeal before starting my mealworms farm over a year ago . Diatomaceous Earth is a white powder containing silica, which kills grain mites by coating their bodies as they walk through it and wearing away their protective outer coating. Ive only got one very healthy large fat tailed Leo now, but I also enjoy breeding the worms I find it fascinating and I have developed quite a passion for the breeding with the worms; and getting the Locusts as babies so I get them really healthy and well fed for Roo. DOI: parasite.org.au/para-site/contents/arthropod-intoduction.html, sahealth.sa.gov.au/wps/wcm/connect/public+content/sa+health+internet/health+topics/health+conditions+prevention+and+treatment/bites+burns+cuts+and+pests/bird+mites/bird+mites+-+prevention+and+treatment, cedars-sinai.org/health-library/diseases-and-conditions---pediatrics/f/flea-mite-or-chigger-bites-in-children.html, ento.psu.edu/extension/factsheets/BitingMe.pdf, idph.state.il.us/envhealth/pcitchmites.htm, mayoclinic.o